the Canadian Militia. May 15, Hon. Charles Bourgeois, Three Rivers, Que., Senator for Shawinigan. May 23, Hon. W. B. Nantel, St. Jérôme, Que., former Minister of Inland Revenue and Deputy Chief Railway Commissioner. May 25, Hon. E. M. Macdonald, P.C., Pictou, N.S., former Minister of National Defence. May 28, Charles V. Gallagher, Toronto, Ont., M.L.A. for Cochrane South. Arthur G. Troop, K.C., Ottawa, Ont., former Law Clerk of the House of Commons. May 30, William A. Baird, Toronto, Ont., M.L.A. for Toronto High Park. June 1, Brig.-Gen. William St. P. Hughes, D.S.O., V.D., Ottawa, Ont., former Superintendent of Penitentiaries. June 4, Dr. William E. Harper, Victoria, B.C., Director, Dominion Astrophysical Observatory. June 8, Capt. C. W. E. Meath, Ottawa, Ont., Chief Inspector of Employment Services, Dominion Dept. of Labour. June 10, Hon. Norman McLeod Rogers, P.C., M.P., Newtonville, Ont., Minister of National Defence. June 27, James H. Fleming, Toronto, Ont., Honorary Curator of Ornithology, National Museum of Canada. July 1, Henry A. K. Drury, Ottawa, Ont., former Assistant Chief Engineer, Board of Railway Commissioners.

Section 4.—Extracts from the Canada Gazette—Official Appointments, Commissions, etc.*

Lieutenant-Governors, 1939.—Sept. 11, Hon. Bradford W. LePage, Charlottetown, P.E.I.: to be Lieutenant-Governor of the Province of Prince Edward Island, effective Oct. 1, 1939. Dec. 14, Major-General, Sir Marie Joseph Eugène Fiset, K.B., C.M.G., D.S.O., M.D., Rimouski, Que.: to be Lieutenant-Governor of the Province of Quebec, effective Dec. 30, 1939. 1940.—Mar. 5, William George Clark, Esq., Fredericton, N.B.: to be Lieutenant-Governor of the Province of New Brunswick. May 31, Frederick Francis Mathers, Esq., K.C., Halifax, N.S.: to be Lieutenant-Governor of the Province of Nova Scotia.

Privy Councillors, 1940.—Feb. 12, Pierre François Casgrain, Esq., K.C., B.A., LL.M., Speaker of the House of Commons during the 18th Parliament: to be a member of the King's Privy Council for Canada.

Cabinet Ministers, 1939.—Sept. 6, Col. the Hon. James Layton Ralston, P.C., K.C., C.M.G., D.S.O., LL.D.: to be Minister of Finance. Sept. 19, Hon. Charles Gavan Power, P.C.: to be Postmaster General, vice Hon. Norman Alexander McLarty. Hon. Ian Alastair MacKenzie, P.C.: to be Minister of Pensions and National Health, vice Hon. Charles Gavan Power. Hon. Norman McLeod Rogers, P.C.: to be Minister of National Defence, vice Hon. Ian Alastair Mackenzie. Hon. Norman Alexander McLarty, P.C.: to be Minister of Labour, vice Hon. Norman McLeod Rogers. 1940.—Apr. 9, Hon. Clarence Decatur Howe, P.C., Minister of Transport: to be Minister of Munitions and Supply. May 9, Hon. James Angus MacKinnon, P.C.: to be Minister of Trade and Commerce, vice Hon. William Daum Euler. Hon. Pierre François Casgrain, P.C.: to be Secretary of State for Canada. May 23, Hon. Charles Gavan Power, P.C.: to be Minister of National Defence for Air.

Senators, 1940.—Jan. 29, J. Fernand Fafard, L'Islet, Que., Hon. John Campbell Elliott, P.C., London, Ont., Arthur Lucien Beaubien, St. Jean-Baptiste, Man., John J. Stevenson, Regina, Sask., Dr. Aristide Blais, Edmonton, Alta., Donald MacLennan, K.C., LL.B., Inverness, N.S. Feb. 9, Charles Benjamin Howard,

[•] This list is in continuance of that at pp. 1163-1167 of the 1939 Year Book.